Trees with a Twist of NaNoWriMo

IMG_1045 (480x640)

North Carolina Arboretum (11/4/2017)

I hope this opening sentence doesn’t make anyone click away, but I’m not quite done posting fall photos. Remember how I’ve taken more than 400 fall photos this fall? I wanted to share a few more. This is likely to be my last “fall photo” post, so please come back if, like my son, you find fall color a bit ho-hum. If you like fall color, this post is dedicated to “Fall Color around Town.” When I couldn’t resist, I would snap a photo or two of a particularly brilliant tree. The reds were remarkable at the end of October; the oranges were slower coming along, but they got there.

Originally, I had thought of doing a series of posts on fall in different locations: fall at the Carl Sandburg House, fall at the Biltmore Estate, fall in the neighborhood—you know the kind of thing. Then I signed up for NaNoWriMo. I delayed it until the first day of November, and I made no plans whatsoever for this novel that I was planning to write. But I did commit to NaNoWriMo, and, much to my astonishment, I am still “in the game.”

IMG_0996 (640x480)

Waynesville, North Carolina (11/2/2017)

What kind of person commits to writing a full-length work of fiction as part of a game? Yet the worldwide count for NaNoWriMo participants in 2016 was a staggering 384,126. Even the language on the NaNoWriMo website speaks of it as a game: “How do I win NaNoWriMo? What are the prizes? Is there an entry fee?” There’s a WikiHow article on how to win NaNoWriMo (I ought to bookmark that). It may be hard for WordPress readers to believe, but there are people who don’t know about NaNoWriMo. I had to explain this writing phenomenon to a woman at my son’s basketball game on Monday. She had never heard of NaNoWriMo, but she was curious as to why I was sitting in my van, typing furiously away on my iPad, during the 30 minutes or so before the basketball game started. (The coach likes players to arrive 45 minutes ahead of time. Thanks to my son’s choice of a less traveled route that GoogleMaps advertised as nine minutes faster, we did arrive 45 minutes early on Monday—which gave me more time for NaNoWriMo.)

To my surprise, she seemed very impressed that I was writing a novel. Were she to read my draft, I suspect she would be less impressed. I find little that is impressive about pursuing this objective: I did it more out of peer pressure than anything else. Last year, my daughter, along with a few of my nieces and nephews, participated in NaNoWriMo. I advised her against it, but she persevered anyway. We have this strange relationship in which she encourages me to do things (some creative, some housekeeping-related) and I discourage her from doing things: she knows I need encouragement, and I know that she tends to overdo. On the whole, I have been helped more by her encouragement than she has by my discouragement—okay, I haven’t seen much improvement in the housekeeping arena, but that has taken on the status of a lost cause, so I am not surprised.

IMG_1020 (640x480)

Biltmore Park (11/3/2017)

She has “won” NaNoWriMo twice, but I have not been allowed to read her novels. This saddens me, as I feel that my gifts really lie more in the editing department than in the creative department. (You won’t be able to tell that from this post, into which I am determined not to put much time, since I am supposed to be busily at work in the housekeeping arena today. A prolonged dentist appointment changed my mind: I felt that I deserved a reward for having an unexpected procedure. What better reward than writing an impromptu post? But the housekeeping needs aren’t going to go away just because I’m ignoring them. The piper must be paid eventually.) My daughter’s novels belong to the potentially lucrative genre of science fiction, and she is a good writer. Maybe one day I’ll persuade her to let me have a look.

Now that I’ve written a third of my own novel, though, I can see why she doesn’t want to let anyone read hers. I am literally making it up as I go along, and I find it difficult to believe that anyone could be edified by a perusal of my 15,881 words to date. Technically, I haven’t quite reached the one-third mark: 50,000 words is the official goal. Here’s the teaser from NaNoWriMo’s site that got me hooked:

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel.

Three phrases did it:

  1.  “seat-of-your-pants.” I am the original fly-without-an-outline writer. I can make outlines because my high school teachers forced me to, and my writing is better when I do, but I so much prefer to hit the ground running.
  2.  “goal.” I doubt if I would play the piano today if my mom hadn’t offered me the incentive of a new Nancy Drew book if I practiced every day for a month. I cannot seem to successfully meet my own goals, but I have a decent success rate of achieving goals that others set for me. Sad but true.
  3. “anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel.” My thoughts of writing a novel have mostly been motivated by my desire to earn filthy lucre. I much prefer writing essays, but I never heard of anyone who made money writing essays. (Please correct me if I’m wrong. I’d even make outlines if that would help my essays make a bit of money. I did submit an article speculatively to a magazine back in my college days and received a small sum when the article was printed, but that was a fluke. I tried that blind submission tactic a few times as a new mom and met with rejection.)

IMG_0563 (640x480)

Barn at the Carl Sandburg House (10/14/2017)

But, sure, I’ve thought about writing a novel. I had no idea how difficult novel-writing was until November 1. I lifted a plot from a suggestion a Facebook friend had made and tweaked it a little, but finding ways to advance the plot has not been my problem. My difficulties have been technical. How do I move my character from the commuter train (which I stupidly set in a real location), down the sidewalk, and into the Boston Public Library? (Oops, I gave it away there. Yes, a visit to Boston and its suburbs would help me right now, but there’s that filthy lucre problem that I mentioned earlier.) Do I need to tell every thought she’s having? Every text she’s receiving on her phone? What if the owners of the actual house that I’m writing about have a problem with their address appearing in my novel? I’m getting ahead of myself there and assuming that this assortment of words will be published. Why would it be?

IMG_1049 (480x640)

Asheville, North Carolina (11/5/2017)

Also, I find myself borrowing from every person or situation I’ve ever experienced. I’ve always wondered how novelists manage not to alienate their family members or friends. There is Thomas Wolfe’s well-known example—and he was a resident of Asheville, North Carolina, too! It would be a little too neat if the book that offended people from Wolfe’s past were You Can’t Go Home Again; that book was published posthumously, so it didn’t matter how many folks he offended. Wolfe’s earlier book, Look Homeward, Angel, reportedly resulted in his receiving death threats from residents of Asheville, which he had fictionalized in his novel. As an Asheville transplant, I am aware of the angry local reactions to Wolfe’s novel. Perhaps that’s why I chose Boston and its suburbs instead as the physical setting for my “novel.” (The quotation marks are necessary.) But, oh, how much time I am losing, zooming in on maps of Boston and images from the library, looking up schedules on the MBTA’s website—and all for what? So that I can claim to have won a game at the end of November?

For the moment, I am trying to ignore all the reasons that I shouldn’t keep writing and forcing myself to try to meet the daily quota of words. (Even my encouraging daughter told me that I shouldn’t expect to “win” the game on my first try. I think she’s concerned about the cluttered condition of the house. Or maybe she’s concerned about my sanity.) But, if you see me here on WordPress a little less for the next couple of weeks, you’ll know why.

Happy Thanksgiving to all, if I disappear until December 1!

IMG_0635 (640x480)

East Asheville (10/18/2017)

17 thoughts on “Trees with a Twist of NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Is There Life after NaNoWriMo? | sappy as a tree: celebrating beauty in creation

  2. Why not write a book of essays? Each chapter could be an extended topic related to your philosophy and it might include autobiographical information as well.

    Ironically enough, Alesander Pope’s ‘An Essay on Criticism’ is not an essay at all, but a poem written in heroic couplets, which consist of two rhyming lines that are written in iambic pentameter.

    I can’t say it does not have qualities like an essay, because it was an attempt to identify and refine Pope’s own positions as a poet and critic. The poem was said to be a response to an ongoing debate on the question of whether poetry should be natural, or written according to predetermined artificial rules inherited from the classical past.

    The final section discusses the moral qualities and virtues inherent in the ideal critic, who, Pope claims, is also the ideal man. In a way that is pretty incredible that he did that within the limits he chose! Write a poem, call it an essay and give your whole philosophy in the process.

    Write a novel, make each chapter an essay with a point. Invent something new!

    Liked by 1 person

    • By choosing verse as his medium, Pope was showing how very clever he was. Alas, I barely have time to churn out the occasional blog post, much less this silly novel I am trying to write. There are certainly seasons in one’s life; the season in which I find myself presently does not leave me with much personal time, which is fine, really. Six years from now, when my youngest son starts college, how will I wish I had invested my time now? The essay or poem can wait; even the blog can wait.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve thought about doing NaNo for the past two years. Last year, I said I’d do it next year, but didn’t. Good for you for jumping in there! I’m curious about what you got published in college.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was an essay called, “Living under the Technological Shadow.” I wrote it during the summer of 1983, when I was working as a temporary receptionist, scribbling it on scrap paper during down time. So much has changed in technology since I wrote it, but it may have been prophetic in some ways. I should find it and reread it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha. I read your entire post — the whole time thinking I should be writing my novel instead of reading your post about you not writing your novel….So, no I don’t have time, but I’m commenting anyway. 🙂 No, no, not every thought. Only the good ones or the ones that move the story forward. And now you know why people write with pseudonyms …

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the advice! When I’m done, if there are any redeemable parts, the whole thing needs to be rewritten. My daughter told me it sounded like I was taken a Mrs. Dalloway approach, which wasn’t my goal.

      Thanks for reading! The whole time I was writing, I was thinking, “I shouldn’t be writing this post.” The pictures (and the dentist’s appointment) provided a justification. And now I have a new level of accountability: I’ve told WordPress about my commitment to NaoWriMo.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Neither do I, Dan. I found myself taking pictures of a “late bloomer” today—a maple tree with gorgeous yellow leaves (not in post). I’ll miss the colors for sure. (Actually, I made the tree my new header image. Hard to believe that picture was taken in mid-November. What a strange fall we’ve had.)

      Liked by 1 person

        • Fall is a great season. Growing up, I preferred spring, but I don’t think we had as many deciduous trees in southern Arkansas.

          Now I’m irked that I didn’t take a picture of a tree I saw yesterday: the golden leaves, which I’d photographed a month before, were brown and wrinkled; the top leaves were gone. Would have made a nice contrast. But, hey, self-control is good, too.

          Liked by 2 people

If you have time, I'd love to hear from you.